Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Does my health condition qualify me for medical marijuana?

TO PREQUALIFY, READ ABOUT MEDICAL CONDITIONS DESCRIBED IN THE NEXT PARAGRAPH.

Under Florida Law, a person must have one of the following debilitating medical conditions or a related condition, in order to become qualified to receive a prescription for medical marijuana:

  • chronic pain of back, neck or any area of the body with painful muscle spasm*
  • generalized anxiety and panic attacks can qualify as a related disorder*
  • headaches and migraines with anxiety can qualify as a related disorder*
  • fibromyalgia pain with muscle spasm can qualify as a related disorder*
  • post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • cancer (any and all types)
  • seizure disorder/epilepsy
  • glaucoma
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • multiple sclerosis
  • a terminal condition diagnosed by a physician (prognosis less than 1 year to live)
  • positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
  • acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
  • amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)

*Or other debilitating medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated, and for which a physician believes that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for a patient. If you are not sure if you qualify, pre-qualify for free by clicking here.

 

How long do I have to wait?   

There is no waiting period–that has been eliminated in the new law as of June 23, 2017. Once you are seen in the office, and we get your card application started, there is some delay from the State in sending the Medical Marijuana Cards.

 

OK, I have a qualifying condition, how do I make an appointment?

Before calling for an appointment, you must read this entire FAQ page. Then, if you have a qualifying condition above, you may schedule an appointment by simply clicking on the following link: Make Appointment. Or you may call (850)222-2222 and we will call you back within one business day to schedule an appointment.

 

What does it cost to be seen and evaluated for certification for Medical Cannabis/Marijuana?

The Initial Consultation fee is $245 and all followup visits are $129, with cash, check, or money order discount. Credit and Debit card receive standard charges.  Our fees at the MEDCAN Office are typically lower than most Physicians’ offices, even though Florida law for Medical Marijuana is very complex, there is significant paperwork and management of the patient course and overhead costs are higher.  A complete fee schedule is posted here.

 

Are there any forms I can fill out ahead of time to bring in?

Yes, once you receive an appointment date and time, download our NEW PATIENT PACKET and fill out ahead of time, and bring with you on your first visit. Also, bring any other doctors office records you may have for our files.

 

What if I am not sure if I qualify?

Please review the qualifying conditions list above. If you are still not sure, call (850)222-2222 and we will return your call within one business day to discuss your condition.

 

How often do I have to be seen? About every three months.

New patients are seen for a New Patient Consult, and when they qualify are placed into the State Registry that same day. This begins your Medical Marijuana Card. There are State of Florida delays that take about 4 weeks to receive your Medical Marijuana Card in the mail. You are seen back in the office (followup visit $129) so you can receive your prescription recommendation for Medical Marijuana. Medicine cannot be given to patients over the phone. After this initial recommendation is given, the patient is seen back in 6 weeks, and this close followup is because they are starting a new medicine that their body may or may not have been exposed to previously. It is a requirement to document side effects and reactions to medicines and changes in controlled substances usage per state law. Once the patient reaches a comfortable level of medicine, we will see the patient back in the office every 3 months.

 

Why are patients seen every 3 months, I thought patients didn’t have to be seen only every 210 days?

Medical Marijuana is a controlled substance and although there are laws allowing refills to 210days, it is more conservative and reasonable to see patients sooner as the standard in the State of Florida for Controlled Substances patient followup is 3 months or less. Some states have become even more restrictive and there are offices that prescribe narcotics and see patients every 1 month. We realize that Medical Marijuana is not a narcotic, yet it is a Control I substance and needs close oversight.

 

What is the difference between Pre-Qualification and Qualification?

Pre-qualification means we will talk to you on the phone and let you know if your condition would likely qualify you to be certified to receive medical cannabis. There is no charge for this service.

Qualification is the process through which a patient becomes certified to receive the Florida Medical Marijuana Card. You must be seen in-person by a physician in our doctor’s office. There is a charge for this physician consultation and office visit. To see a list of our fees, click here.

Certified — Patients with a qualifying condition who have seen our physician are certified, in accordance with Florida law.

 

Do I need to have a referral to the MEDCAN Certification Clinic?

You do not need a referral to have an appointment with MEDCAN. However, you will need to have a previous diagnosis as listed above, and been treated by a physician or specialist for such condition.  MEDCAN Doctor’s Office requires patient provide copies of their medical record to support their diagnosis. To facilitate your certification, go to your doctor’s office and at a minimum, get a copy of your medical summary, and recent office visit, with your diagnosis. Bring this with you to your MEDCAN appointment.

 

What records are needed to be brought in for my office visit? 

We need supporting records of your diagnosis which will certify you. Usually the most recent office visit from your primary or specialist treating physician will have a summary of your diagnosis and treatments up to date for your indicated condition. BRING A COPY OF YOUR MEDICAL SUMMARY WITH YOU TO YOUR MEDCAN APPOINTMENT.

 

Once I am seen at MEDCAN Doctors Office, can I see you as my primary and get all my prescriptions from MEDCAN ? 

No, you may not. You must continue to see your primary doctor and Family Physician. MEDCAN is not a pain clinic nor does it provide primary care services. We do not prescribe sedatives, opiates, or any other medicines. Our focus is to help patients access Medical Cannabis under Florida law.

 

Where is the MEDCAN Doctor’s Office located?

MEDCAN Florida
1849 Capital Medical Ct.
Tallahassee, FL 32308

Our Tallahassee office is located on Capital Medical Ct near Capital Regional Hospital.

Phone 850.222.2222

Fax:  850.222.2222  Our Amendment 2 Hotline number accepts Voicemail and Faxes 24 hours 7 days a week. However, we prefer patients hand-carry us a copy of any medical records and supporting documents to us on their first visit, to leave with our office for your chart. This facilitates patient care and speeds patient certification.

 

Does the MEDCAN Doctors Office accept insurance for office visits?  

No. There are no insurance carriers that pay for Medical Marijuana related services or medicines. We do accept all debit and credit cards, and offer discounts for cash, checks and money orders.

 

I heard California does office visits on the phone and Telemedicine. Is this allowed in Florida?

No. Telemedicine is not allowed for Medical Marijuana in Florida. To protect its citizens, Florida law does not allow Telemedicine for Controlled Substances.  Medical Marijuana is a Federal “Controlled Substance”.  It makes good sense that the intent of the law would not allow a physician-patient relationship for Controlled Substances to be carried out on the phone, because Controlled Substances like Medical Marijuana are highly regulated.  While there are some doctors advertising “phone visits”, do not subscribe to this. There are many scams occuring around the state.

 

Is it safe to sign up with companies that schedule me with traveling doctors? 

Be careful! We have heard many patients tell us they have paid money to companies on the phone, and never received their doctor visit, or their card. There are advertisements online where a company says they will give patients medicine for a year, but after the patient signs up, they do not hear back from the doctors and no one answers their phonecalls.

Dr Mark Moore and the MEDCAN office is located in Tallahassee Florida and we have office hours and see patients every week. We accept phonecalls 24-hours a day and return calls within one business day.

 

After I am seen by a doctor, how long does it take until they can recommend me for this medicine?

Florida law has no waiting period for patients. After you have been seen by one of our doctors, you may then be approved and recommended for medical marijuana immediately. However, under current Florida law, all persons approved for medical marijuana must receive their card from the state to be able to take medical marijuana for their condition. The Department of Health card division has created some delays up to 30 days.

 

How long does it take to get my medical marijuana prescription once I have received my recommendation?

Once our physician enters the prescription recommendation into the registry, you may go pick up your prescription at the dispensary immediately. Note that there has been a delay at the State level for patients receiving their Medical Marijuana Card, and this is needed to receive a recommendation and pick up medicine.

 

I live out of state but vacation in Florida or have a residence in Florida and live there part-time, can I qualify?

Yes, a “seasonal resident” can qualify, under specific rules of the law: “Seasonal Resident” means any person who temporarily resides in this state for a period of 31 consecutive days in each calendar year, maintains a temporary residence in this state, returns to the state of jurisdiction of his or her residence at least one time during each calendar year, and is registered to vote or pays income tax in another state or jurisdiction. To read the entire rules for what qualifications are necessary for a “Seasonal Resident”, click here.

 

I live in Georgia. Can I get a prescription for Medical Marijuana in Florida?

Maybe. Current Florida law makes allowances for a “Seasonal Resident” from Georgia (or any other state outside of Florida) to qualify. There are very specific rules which qualify someone as a “Seasonal Resident” and MEDCAN Doctor’s office requires these rules to be met before anyone is placed into the registry to receive a recommendation. See our information sheet on “Seasonal Resident Requirements“.

 

Why are fees not discounted or insurance accepted?

Our fee is modest in consideration of the work involved to see our patients, complete the paperwork, send the letters, and file the eventual medical cannabis/marijuana prescription recommendation with the State of Florida OCU/MM site. Every patient has to be seen in the office by a physician, a history obtained, and the patient examined. The patient informed consent form is SEVEN PAGES long, the patient certification Checklist has 14 items to complete, we are required to send patient information to the Board of Medicine every visit for all “K” condition certifications, we are required to send patient information to the Department of Health for every patient followup visit, we have to place all recommendations into a computer registry, and there is literally masses of paperwork.  Also consider the increased risk due to the discrepancy of Florida State law with the U.S. Federal Law. We have a checklist to keep up with the checklists. Really. Without question, our fees are quite modest.